Home Latest News Fola Adeola resigns as deputy chair of Boko Haram victims’ support committee

Fola Adeola resigns as deputy chair of Boko Haram victims’ support committee


Fola Adeola, the Deputy Chairman of the committee on the Victims Support Fund has resigned, PREMIUM TIMES has learned.

The fund was set by the immediate past administration to pool resources and provide support to victims of Boko Haram insurgency and other similar clashes.

Mr. Adeola, a former Vice-Presidential candidate, who tendered his resignation last Monday to the Chairman of the committee, Theophilus Danguma, did not give any reason for quitting.

Mr. Adeola could not be reached for comment as he was said to be out of the country. However, his PR consultant, Jimi Disu, confirmed over the phone that he has indeed resigned from the committee.
“He believes that he has done enough to stabilise the place and get the committee going and he has moved on,” said Mr Disu.

Further probe from people who are aware of the internal working of the committee, however, suggested that Mr. Adeola’s resignation may be connected to some untoward happenings within the committee.

“All kinds of things happened there that he just wants a quiet exit. He doesn’t want to get into any trouble,” a source who asked not to be named told PREMIUM TIMES.

The Chairman of the committee, Theophilus Danjuma, did not answer calls made to his mobile phone. He has not also responded to text messages sent to him several hours ago about Mr. Adeola’s resignation.

The committee on the Victims Support Fund was inaugurated by former President Goodluck Jonathan on August 1, 2014.

The committee is made up of notable business moguls, politicians and civil servants in the country such as Mohammed Indimi, Abdulsamad Rabiu, Sani Dauda, Folorunsho Alakija, Cosmas Maduka, Jim Ovia, Wale Tinubu and Sani Sidi, the Director General, National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA).

The committee which had the mandate to raise N50 billion overshot its mandate by nearly N10 billion. Some of its largest donors were Mr Danjuma, $10 million; Aliko Dangote, N1 billion; Mr.. Ovia, N1 billion; Tony Elumelu, N2.5 billion; Mike Adenuga, N1 billion; Wale Tinubu, N1 billion; Arthur Eze, $5 million; Mohammed Ndimi, $5 million; Kabiru Rabiu, N500 million; Dahiru Mangal N500 million; and Folorunsho Alakija, N500 million.

Others include a group of oil sector players, N17 billion; bankers N15 billion, telecom sector players N1 billion; state governors, N3.7 billion; and ministers, N50 million.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By John Mayaki
Load More In Latest News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Pastor W.F Kumuyi: My Role Model!

My Role Model! This man of God and my role-model founded the Deeper Christian Life Ministr…