Home Latest News Obaseki Inaugurates ICD, TTP Project Committee

Obaseki Inaugurates ICD, TTP Project Committee

Gov. Obaseki with the Chairman Edo Inland Container Deport (ICD) and Truck Transit Park (TTP) Implementation Committee, Engineer Charles Akhighe

Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, has inaugurated the Edo Inland Container Deport (ICD) and Truck Transit Park (TTP) Implementation Committee, mandating them to uptick economic activities in the state.


Inaugurating the eight-man committee, chaired by Engineer Charles Akhighe, Governor Godwin Obaseki said members of the team were chosen without partisan invidiousness, but that their technical knowledge and experience as experts selected them.


He said the implementation committee had become necessary given his administration’s strategy to make Edo a logistic hub.


He said: “As a government we have taken these transactions seriously and are putting our support behind the transaction. As an implementation step, we have to set up a committee of experts. This team is not a statutory body of government, but the government is facilitating the take-off by giving the impulse and push.


On the committee’s terms of reference the governor charged the committee to work with promoters to ensure that all federal and state permits required for the project take-off are obtained, to conduct road shows within and outside the state on potentials for industrialists, manufacturers, innovators, small and large business owners, to conduct meetings with stakeholders and partners on the importance of the ICD, to make recommendations on solutions for outstanding facilities, live roads and other infrastructure on the container deport and truck transit pack as well as processes and procedures to increase Edo’s IGR and to set targets and plans ahead of commencement.


For his part, Engineer Akhigbe expressed the committee’s interest and readiness to work with the government in developing the state.


“You have given us the mandate of turning Edo State into a globally competitive state and we are here to encourage exports, especially in cash crops. It will create innovation, as this is an opportunity to boost the state’s economy,” he said.


Other members of the Committee include Theophilus Okoh, Austin Atakpu, Francis Ehiguese, Chief Chris Orode, and Princess Biddy Adele. Others representative of the government in the committee are the MD/CEO of ECTS and Edugie Agbonlahor.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By John Mayaki
Load More In Latest News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Pastor W.F Kumuyi: My Role Model!

My Role Model! This man of God and my role-model founded the Deeper Christian Life Ministr…